Stereotypes in Society (2/3)

I refuse to enslave myself
To the conservative rituals
Becoming merely a principal
To breath independently
And become an inhabitant.

I refuse to accept
And consider myself inferior,
Under any circumstances
For my existence is no burden
To the fellows accompanying me.

I refuse to pay
The price of my transference
Accepting love as a favour
When I’m entitled to it.

Dowry is real, we can not runaway from it. No matter how we call it, it still exists. People may use different words to name it but at the end of the day, it’s the same. The same tradition, same rituals and moreover, same mentality being followed. Despite all the efforts, we still continue with it because we are scared to be kicked out of the society. How people will refuse to accept us, the daughters in our family won’t get married and relatives will cut off all the ties. These petrifying thoughts hold us to step forward and eradicate the imbecilic rituals.

Stereotypes in Society (2/3)

-Habiba Faisal

Instagram: @habibablogs

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Rukhsar Khan says:

    This the sad reality of society. I wish I could ban this concept of dowry. I do not know how do these ghairat mand mards demand for dowry. If you cannot fulfil your responsibilities than do not marry.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Habiba says:

      Yeah, what’s more unfortunate is that no matter how much we criticize it, at the end of the day we’ll be offering it too. We’ll lose to the same old colonial mindset that has been existential.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment